Go to section …

Organizations and Users

CA Flowdock is organized into chat rooms called flows. Each flow has a chat and a team inbox. A flow belongs to one organization.

There are two types of flows:

  • Invite-only – hidden from other users
  • Open – visible to everyone in the organization

Users can only be removed from invite-only flows.

CA Flowdock users can belong to as many organizations as they wish. When a user is a member of an organization, they can join all of the organization’s flows that are not invite-only.

By default, users can also reach all the members of the organization(s) that they’re in. Organization administrators can change user visibility so that users only see the people that they share a flow with. This and other organization administration settings can be found by opening the Account page from the user menu and selecting Admin under the appropriate organization.

Any CA Flowdock user can create a new organization. New organizations have a 30 day trial period, after which the user will have to set up payment details. Organizations with 5 or fewer users can switch the organization over to the free plan.

Organization administrators

The creator of the organization becomes the owner of that organization. The owner has all the abilities of an administrator, except only an owner can change an organization's name or delete the organization. The owner can also transfer ownership to another administrator. Administrators can promote other users to administrators from the organization's Users page. You can access this page from your Account page.

Administrators can change organization-wide settings, change the organization's plan and payment details, enable an email domain, connect the organization with Google or CA Agile Central and other organization-related activities. These can be done from the options below the organization in a user's Account page.

Administrators can view a list of all flows in an organization, and can disable and delete flows. The contents of a flow will only be visible if the administrator is part of that flow. That means that administrators do not have access to contents of invite-only flows that they’re not a part of. Administrators do not have access to other peoples' 1-to-1 conversations. All users who have access to a flow can export that flow’s content from the organization’s Flows page, which can be found from their Account page.

Read more about Administration.

Add users to an organization

When a user is added to a flow, they are also added to the organization that the flow belongs to. All flow members can invite new users to a flow. If the invited user is already a member of the organization, they'll be added to the flow and the flow will appear in that user's sidebar. In other cases, the invited users will receive an email with an invitation link. Another way to invite people to a flow is by enabling the flow's invitation link. Once enabled, the link can be shared and users can join by opening the invitation link.

Flow access settings can be changed from the Flow Members dialog, which can be opened by clicking the ellipsis icon next to the flow’s name.

Organization administrators can disable non-admin users' ability to invite new people to an organization. When enabled, non-admins will not be able to invite people from outside the organization to flows. The only way to add new people to an organization in this case is for administrators to invite the new users, or by connecting the organization with Google Apps, CA Agile Central, an email domain or a single sign-on provider and have the new users sign up using that signup method (as explained below).

Join an organization automatically

An organization can be connected to a Google Apps domain, a CA Agile Central subscription, a single sign-on provider and/or an email domain. When a user signs up, if their signup method matches a connected organization, they will be added to that organization. If there are no matches, a new organization is created for the user.

By defining an email domain for your CA Flowdock organization, whenever someone signs up for CA Flowdock with an email address matching that domain and verifies that they own the email address, they are added to your organization.

When an organization is connected with a Google Apps domain, if a user signs up for CA Flowdock using their Google account from the connected Google Apps domain, they will automatically be added to the correct CA Flowdock organization. A Google Apps domain can be connected with only one CA Flowdock organization.

Note: if a Google Apps domain is connected with a CA Flowdock organization but no email domain is set up, a user that signs up using their email address (instead of their Google Apps account) will not be added to the correct organization. It is a good idea to both connect your Google Apps domain and set up an email domain.

Connecting a CA Agile Central subscription to a CA Flowdock organization works similarly to Google Apps domains: when a user signs up using their CA Agile Central credentials, if the CA Agile Central subscription is connected with a CA Flowdock organization, the user is added to that organization. Similarly, a CA Agile Central subscription can be connected with only one CA Flowdock organization.

If you want to connect your CA Agile Central subscription but don't want to let users join your CA Flowdock organization automatically, visit our community page for support. This can be useful in situations where you don't want to let all of your CA Agile Central users join your CA Flowdock organization.

Read CA Flowdock's single sign-on administration guide for more information about SSO.

Remove users

Administrators can remove users from an organization as long as the user is not the owner of the organization. This can be done from the organization's user list, found under the organization on the Account page. If a flow is invite-only, administrators can also remove users from a flow from the Flow Members dialog.

When a user is removed from an organization, they will lose access to that organization's flows. Because a user can belong to multiple organizations, removing a user from an organization will not delete their CA Flowdock user account.

Manage multiple organizations

Organizations are a good way to control access to specific flows or users. For example, if you want to use CA Flowdock with clients but don't want to give them access to internal flows, you can create a new organization that includes the client's users (in addition to your users who are working with that client).

In order to not get billed twice for users who are in both organizations, you can set your main (internal) CA Flowdock organization as the parent organization of the new client organization. A CA Flowdock organization can be the parent of multiple other organizations, but can only be the child of one organization. Users who belong to a parent organization and any child organizations will only be billed once.

To set up a child/parent relationship between organizations, you need to be the owner of both organizations. Open up the Admin page of the child organization, and select the parent organization from the Link organizations section.

Delete organizations

Organizations can only be deleted by the owner of the organization. To delete an organization, open the Admin page under the organization from your Account page. Warning: deleting an organization cannot be undone!